Sweet Start

I wanted to start my own blog for some time, and you know, every time someone told me it would be easy once I got started, I felt just a little dumber.  Well then a friend offered to show me how to get started.  Susan is a friend I only recently met, but immediately felt comfortable with.  I saw some of her yarn at my LYS, then searched online for another skein…. only to discover I live just down the road from a very nice lady that produces beautiful colours using yarn of a quality that I appreciate.  I headed off to Susan’s house with a tin of Cadbury’s biscuits (cookies in the US) – I am the benefactor of several generous relatives who ship me copious quantities of irresistible confections, so I figured I’d share my booty (in a vain effort to minimize the impact on my bottom line). 

After a lesson which included forays into a vividly-hued forest of yarn hanging to dry, a shuffle through a knitting library, and exchanges of travels through Europe, Susan packed me off with a couple of cookbooks.  Apparently Gourmet’s Best Desserts isn’t on WeightWatchers reading list.

“This one looks good” says son….

Lemon Roll

Yes! My first ever rolled up cake! Its soooo sweet (sigh!) When life gives you lemons, put 6 egg yolks, 4 whole eggs, a stick and half of butter and 2 cups of sugar with it!

7 Responses to “Sweet Start”

  1. Susan Says:

    That is the first time anything has been made out of that cookbook! I’m glad it went to someone who likes to bake. Neither Michael nor I like desserts that much.

  2. chrisabbott Says:

    Its a really good book – the cake came out just like you’d expect from a good bakery. I’m just going to have to figure out how to make a smaller one – or maybe you could come over and help us eat it?

  3. rmsheffler Says:

    Great job (on both the dessert & the blog!) 🙂

  4. chrisabbott Says:

    Thanks (I just ate some more for breakfast)

  5. Scullerymaid Says:

    Both the cake and the blog look great! You’re off to a good start in 2010!

  6. Mama Said... Says:

    Yum!! I want some!

Leave a Reply

