Hiroshima & The Tulip Factory

I almost didn’t take advantage of the excursion to visit the Tulip Factory since there appeared to be so much else to go see in Hiroshima.  It turned out to be the highlight of my entire trip.

The Tulip Company sent a coach to greet us at the ship – right from the beginning, we were made to feel special and very welcome.  There were bags with gifts and information about the Tulip Factory waiting for us.  Our delightful guides handed out bottles of water and dainty cookies and held a little trivia quiz (I won a prize!)

       P3260923

The further we got from the shore, the more it snowed, it really was beautiful. I wish I could’ve snapped the houses we passed, but had to settle for scenes near the gas station we stopped at for a refreshing break:

       Tulip2

Our visit to the factory was a real treat, not only did we see the machines they use, and how they make double-ended crochet hooks and sewing needles, but we had a peek into the culture of their employees. Everyone was so friendly and cheerful, and seemed genuinely proud of their work. Many of them came outside to clear snow and welcome us, all added their names in English beneath their Japanese name tags:

Tulip
(I didn’t take this picture, left my camera on the coach! It was kindly provided by Judy who was also on the this tour).

Following a walk around the factory, and an explanation of how sticks of metal are turned into finely crafted needles, we were given fresh tulips and indulged in much photograph taking. Then, we were totally spoiled with lunch at the most elegant restaurant imaginable with views of lovely gardens from all windows:

03212010 208

Tulip6

The owner spent most of the day with us – he had every right to be proud:

Tulip5

Near the entrance to our dining room:

Tulip18

(If you’re hungry, or do not care for pictures of food, you may want to scroll down quickly

Tulip10
Tulip11Tulip12
Tulip13
Tulip14
Tulip15

After our meal, we had our shopping frenzy – some of the needles are available through a small number of US retailers, but we pounced on neat sets in zipped pouches that included an array of crochet hooks with scissors, tape measure, darning needles, and so forth. At a glance, the kits really didn’t look so impressive, but closer up, I was thrilled with the fact that one set had hooks small enough for beadwork, and all sizes up to a hook you could use to work with worsted weight yarn; I can’t find my kit right now, I sure hope my friend packed two in her luggage….

Oh, we must go now:

Tulip17

But wait, there’s more!  Our lovely guides busily decorated folders containing a group photograph of us all with origami flowers and other pretties, and presented us each along with another gift.  I feel like knitting-tourist royalty.

       Tulip19

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Hiroshima & The Tulip Factory”

  1. Purpleworms Says:

    What a great picture of the Tulip company president!! Oh my goodness! I am in awe!! All your photos of this trip are beautiful!! I’m definitely linking you when I get to Hiroshima on my blog!!

  2. Mary Anne Says:

    This is lovely, Chris. Think you should send this to Mr. Harada at Tulip. I just got finished writing him a thank-you letter, but wouldn’t he be thrilled to see this description and these great pictures? You have captured it perfectly.

    Their e-mail is info@tulip-japan.co.jp

    M.A.

    • chrisabbott Says:

      Thanks Mary Anne – I plan to write a letter to Mr Harada this weekend. Glad to hear that I’m not the only one that thinks the occasion merited a handwritten thank you.

Leave a Reply

