Life on the Ocean Waves…

Only two more destinations in China left on my trip…..(sigh!)

Looking back, I see little evidence that I was even on a ship.  I’ve picked out a few pictures, but I guess I’m not a good blogger because there’s huge gaps.  I hope none of my travel companions will be offended if they do not see themselves here, I was too busy enjoying their company to stop and take pictures. 

I’m sure you’ve seen cute things made out of towels before, but have you ever seen anything like this hanging from the ceiling?

03212010 429

I jumped out of my skin the first time I saw him, the eyes are foil-covered chocolates and they shone eerily in the half-light. Oddly enough, there were no bananas on the buffet for the first time immediately following this guy’s appearance.

This is Rita (and me) dressed up for formal night – I have a lot of affection for Rita, she looks like my grandmother and is just as nice. I loved the photograph she had of several generations of her family, all wearing a sweater she knitted. My grandmother was miserable if she strayed away from her home town more than a few hours. Rita obviously does not suffer from such an affliction:

03212010 415

She’s a mover too:

03212010 418

Remember our visit to Hiroshima and the Tulip Needle Factory? The tulips they gave us stayed fresh until the last couple of days:

03212010 293

We tried to keep our cabin reasonably tidy since there was room to relax, and knit or play cribbage. Mary Beth finished this in time to wear on formal night (good knitters find a way to block their FOs anywhere):

03212010 411

…..but whenever I just got back from shopping, everything exploded!

03212010 608

I met so many nice people, not only were our group of knitters fun & interesting to hang out with, but other passengers on the ship were pleasure to meet too. I found myself giving knitting lessons to Deborah in the breakfast buffet (we were up earlier than most). I wonder if she is still knitting on this kidsilk scarf:

03212010 615

I can’t believe I didn’t take any picture out on a deck until our trip was almost over – I guess I must’ve been busy. On this day, it was very windy, but I could feel the temperature rising nicely as we headed away from Beijing.

03212010 735

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

