Quality Time

Since I moved to the U.S. (17 years ago) I treasure time spent with family from England. My BabySis and brother-in-law came to visit and we had a splendid time together. Alas, today I have to return them to the airport and bid them farewell.

During our quiet time at home and on the road (more about our road trip after I’ve sifted my photographs), I helped BabySis advance her knitting skills. She knitted her first project on her last visit with me, and wanted to use up some yarn she brought along this time. We settled on Celtic Cabled Neckwarmer from Storm Moon Knits.  Here’s the result:

CabledNeckWarmer

Nice huh? BabySis announced that she’d like to make several different neckwarmers for Christmas gifts so we set off to L & B and picked out a few nice worsted-weight yarns. Then I picked out a few stitches from Barbara Walker’s indispensable Treasury of Knitting Patterns and we chose one that would show off the Mochi Plus yarn she fell for:

Annette'sNeckWarmer

All it needs is buttons – I think its lovely. It was so rewarding to help my sister through the process of learning how to knit, then taking on patterned stitches, and button-holes even! Of course, choosing patterns and yarn is much more fun now she has mastered more than the basics.

(I wonder if I might wind up on that Xmas list??)

Tags:

2 Responses to “Quality Time”

  1. Anne Says:

    Lovely! The satisfaction of completing the projects as well as adding a knitter to the fray. Good for her, and you, of course. :o)

    • chrisabbott Says:

      Thanks Anne, I’m looking forward to conversations about knitting (we call each other weekly) – I promised to write up some different cables for her to try with the rest of the yarn we picked up.

Leave a Reply

