Inspiration in Galveston Island

I can’t imagine how I managed to wind up in a land-locked state.  I like it here well enough, but every once in a while, I have to head for the coast.  I do not need white sand, surfers, or yachts, just waves, rocks and maybe a little sand, and of course sunrises…..I got my coffee and wandered out to the balcony just in time to catch this one:

GalvestonBeach

So what do you do at the beach? I’m just content to get sand between my toes and let the waves wash my cares away….

GalvestonBeachFeet

GalvestonBeachFeetII 

GalvestonBeachFeetIII

BabySis & I chose to visit a submarine – the USS Cavalla (OK, we probably wouldn’t have chosen to go there if it weren’t for having Son & Brother-in-Law with us). Its really cool, see, the first sign you see let’s you know how original everything is:

GalvestonWarning

Even the bathrooms and kitchens were fascinating to me – anyone living in a New York apartment should visit this submarine; its a study in efficiency. So tiny, it wasn’t easy to take good pics. I couldn’t resist a couple that I find inspiring, I’m fascinated with knobs, levers, and the like, surely I can find inspiration from this:

GalvestonKeys

Lookie! They even have cables down here!!  (You know that’s going in my ideas box)

GalvestonPipes

Speaking of cables, I must go knit a few more rows on Nettie’s Neck Warmer done in reversible cables – I’ll be back with photo’s.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Inspiration in Galveston Island”

  1. SusanB-knits Says:

    I grew up on the east coast near a beach. With gritty yellow sand. And I burned and got sun poisoning. Then I married. And we lived near the beach, then on the beach, then again near the beach (Navy wife). etc. LOTS of beach, sun, and sand! And I still got burned and sun poisoning.
    I now live on the edge of the desert. Nope, I don’t miss the beach. At all.

    Isn’t it great to see what the inside of a sub is like. Can you imagine living in such close space?! With all that water surrounding you?!

    Enjoy your vacation in the sun and squishy sand between your toes!

  2. chrisabbott Says:

    I could imagine living in a sub if there weren’t 30 others living in there with me!

Leave a Reply

